Tagged: REM

R.E.M. was an influential American rock band formed in Athens, Georgia, in 1980. The original lineup included Michael Stipe (vocals), Peter Buck (guitar), Mike Mills (bass), and Bill Berry (drums). R.E.M. became one of the most prominent and critically acclaimed bands of the 1980s and 1990s, often credited with pioneering alternative rock.

Their early albums, like Murmur (1983) and Reckoning (1984), showcased a jangly, guitar-driven sound and enigmatic lyrics. In the late ’80s and ’90s, they achieved mainstream success with albums like Out of Time (1991) and Automatic for the People (1992), featuring hits like “Losing My Religion” and “Everybody Hurts.”

R.E.M. was known for their introspective and poetic songwriting, often characterized by Michael Stipe’s distinctive and mumbled vocal delivery. The band’s music evolved over the years, incorporating folk, pop, and experimental elements.

Bill Berry left the band in 1997, and R.E.M. continued as a trio. They released several more albums, including Up (1998), Reveal (2001), and Accelerate (2008). In 2011, R.E.M. announced their breakup, concluding their career with the album Collapse into Now (2011).

R.E.M. left a significant impact on the music industry and remains celebrated for their innovation and enduring catalog. Their songs continue to resonate with fans worldwide, making them a hallmark of alternative and rock music history.

R.E.M.: Up

R.E.M.: “I’m Not Over You” from Up

About “I’m Not Over You” “I’m Not Over You” is a hidden song by R.E.M. from their album Up. A Michael Stipe solo performance on acoustic guitar. About Up Up is the eleventh studio...

R.E.M.: Green

R.E.M.: “Untitled” from Green

About “Untitled” “Untitled” is a hidden song by R.E.M. from their album Green. Listed in the digital music stores as “Untitled.” The song is copyright registered with the title “11” and appears on some...